BBC pundit Garth Crooks hits out at Mane's antics: 'Contact in the box doesn't automatically mean it's a penalty'
Crooks even believes Mane should have been sent off for the second booking against Crystal Palace on Saturday.
Mane was booked for diving as he went down dramatically after a slight contact James McArthur.
Garth Crooks is not pleased with Mane's antics after the penalty incident. He has also hit out at Jurgen Klopp as the Liverpool manager claimed the penalty should have been allowed.
"For an hour Sadio Mane terrified Crystal Palace. But how Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp had the brass neck to even suggest the striker deserved a penalty after James McArthur appeared to make contact in the box I have no idea.
"How many more times do I have to say this? Contact in the box doesn't automatically mean it's a penalty. A foul does. The delay between the contact being made by McArthur and Mane going to ground was clearly evident and destroyed whatever claim Liverpool could have made.
"Referee Neil Swarbrick then gave Mane the benefit of the doubt by not issuing a second yellow card for Mane grabbing the ball. And Klopp had the temerity to criticise the referee in his post-match interview for not awarding Liverpool a penalty?
"Mane was lucky to be on the pitch at all. As for Klopp he should just have said thank you and gone on his way."
Mane scored Liverpool's vital equalizer in the second half of the match, however, some minutes before he should have been awarded a second yellow card and, thus, sent off. Mane believed he had been fouled and picked the ball up with his hands.
Do you agree there was a penalty?